2020 Awards and Prizes

The 2020 Plein Air Down Under Festival had over $8000 in prizes and awards spread over 6 categories. Congratulations to all the winners.

General Awards

These awards were presented at the Judge’s Invitational Exhibition on 4 October, at Contemporary Art Spaces Mandurah:

  • Brendon Darby: $2,500 Professional Category, presented by the City of Mandurah
  • Andy Dolphin: $1,000 Non-professional Category, presented by Bendigo Bank Halls Head
  • Sue Deighton: $500 People’s Choice Award, presented by Mandurah Holiday Rentals
  • Emmie Barton: $50 Youth Award under 13, presented by Bendigo Bank Halls Head
  • Xanthe Turner: $100 Youth Award aged 13 – 18, presented by Bendigo Bank Halls Head

Quick Draw Awards

presented on Saturday 26 September:

  • Leanne Pearson: $500 in products, Best Oil Painting, presented by Michael Harding Paints & Leon Holmes Products
  • Juliet McCormack: $500 Best Watercolour Painting, presented by the Mandurah Caravan & Tourist Park
  • Susan Swain: $500 Best Painting (other than oil or watercolour) presented by the Peel Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Deborah Zibah: $200 Highly Commended, presented by Silver Sands Resort
  • Andy Dolphin: $200 Highly Commended, presented by Catch 22 Tapas & Cocktail Lounge
  • Gayle Bukey: $200 Highly Commended, presented by Diverse Glazing Group
  • Misha Preston: $50 in art supplies, Youth Award under 13, presented by Jacksons Drawing Supplies
  • Xanthe Turner: $100 in art supplies, Youth Award aged 13 – 18, presented by Jacksons Drawing Supplies

Pinjarra Awards

presented on Sunday 27 September:

  • Jos Coufreur: $500 Pinjarra Award, presented by Pinjarra Connect.
  • Prize Draws:  Artists received a ticket for every painting done as part of the Pinjarra Heritage Trail.
  • Prizes included:  Jarra Infusion meal vouchers, art supplies, wine and more…

Virtual Paint Out presented by Senior Art Supplies

Prizes were drawn on Sunday 4 October, at Contemporary Art Spaces Mandurah.

$1000 in total art supply vouchers: 10 winners at $100 each.


Julie Chadwick.

Rosa Wong. (x 2)

Moyra Le Blanc Smith. (x 2)

Dale Williams.

Vivienne Bradshaw.

Ruth Bosveld.

Tracy Atkinson.

Sue Kelly.